Canada, is the other piece of basic legislation under which the territorial government operates. The Minister is responsible for the management of the natural resources, except game, and for the development of the North generally. Although he shares authority with the Governor in Council for directing the Commissioner in his duties, he is the effective link between the territorial and federal governments.

The Executive. The executive side of the territorial government is headed by a Commissioner appointed by the federal government. He is directed to administer the government of the Yukon Territory under instruction from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In practice, the Commissioner is much more responsive to the wishes of his elected Council than the Yukon Act implies and he cannot spend any territorial funds which have not been voted by Council. A growing body of territorial ordinances require Council approval for specific actions; in practice, the Commissioner never

acts on any major issue without consulting Council.

Because the Commissioner does not sit with Council, the Yukon Act was amended in 1960 to bridge the gap between the executive and legislative functions of government at Council sessions. The amendment provided for the formation of an Advisory Committee on Finance composed of three members of Council appointed by the Commissioner on the advice of Council. Another step to harmonize the executive and legislative functions of government was the formation in November 1970 of an Executive Committee consisting of the Commissioner as chairman and four members: the Assistant Commissioner (Executive) and Administrator of the Yukon Territory as vice-chairman, the Assistant Commissioner (Administrative) and two members of Council to be appointed by the Commissioner on the recommendation of the territorial Council. The two Council members on the Executive Committee are also members of the Advisory Committee on Finance, leaving the third member to be appointed by Council. As part of their administrative duties, one elected member is responsible for the Department of Education and the other for the Department of Health, Welfare and Rehabilitation.

Below the Commissioner's office, the territorial public service, comprising 1,000 persons including 265 teachers, is organized into ten conventional administrative departments under the direction of the Commissioner; all are located in Whitehorse. In outlying communities territorial government administration is represented by a limited number of territorial agents concerned with the sale of liquor and licences. Health facilities are administered mainly by the federal Department of National Health and Welfare, an involvement stemming from its responsibility for Indians in the Yukon and from practical administrative considerations. The territorial government directs education, under the territorial Department of Education,

engineering services and the administration of certain welfare programs.

Some administrative areas such as natural resources, which are the responsibility of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, are administered by federal public servants. The Commissioner, in addition to his constitutional role in territorial government, is also the Department's senior federal representative in the Territory. The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Yukon Territory for purposes of the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for the administration of criminal justice in the Territory but not for civil matters, or the constitution or organization of the courts. Law enforcement is provided by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and the contract for its services is negotiated by the territorial government.

A detailed discussion of the territorial court system is presented in Chapter 3.

The Legislature. The Legislative Council consists of seven members elected for a term of four years. In general, all persons resident in the Territory for one year prior to the date of enumeration and 18 years of age are eligible to vote. Three of the members represent electoral districts located in or close to Whitehorse where about half of the some 20,000 residents of the Territory live. As in many other matters, a federal agency, the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, conducts the territorial elections as a free service to the Territory. Council normally meets in session twice each year. The first session commences in January and as a major part of its work votes on the main territorial estimates, prepared by the Commissioner and approved by Council's Advisory Committee on Finance and the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. The second session is usually called in November and special sessions can be held at any time. Main sessions last from one to two months and the debates are recorded verbatim and published under the title of *Votes and proceedings*.